16 Replies Latest reply on 20-Nov-2013 13:53 by 426647

Day 2: Coherence and how we can apply a PCD lens to the issue of global food security.

New User

Moderators: Ernesto Soria Morales and Carina Lindberg, OECD PCD Unit, and representatives from ECDPM.

(Please note that the opinions expressed during this online dialogue are ours alone and do not necessarily reflect the views of the OECD.)

• Re: Day 2: Coherence and how we can apply a PCD lens to the issue of global food security.
          426647 Apprentice

Dear Participants,

Good morning and welcome to the second day of our online dialogue. My name is Carina Lindberg and I work as a Policy Analyst in the OECD’s Unit for Policy Coherence for Development. My colleague Ernesto and I will co-moderate today’s discussion together with representatives from the European Centre for Development Policy Management (ECDPM). Today we will explore how PCD, as a policy tool, can be applied to address the issue of global food security.

Even in a world of unprecedented economic opportunities, over 800 million people in the developing world still suffer from hunger and undernourishment. How can this be? We know that the world produces enough food to feed everyone. Yet, more than one in seven persons still goes hungry!

This incoherence clearly shows that ensuring food security is not simply about producing enough food. Rather, building global food security requires a cross-cutting approach to PCD – one that addresses the different dimensions of food security (availability; accessibility; utilisation; and stability), as well as deals with structural conditions that constrain development.